For Immediate Release: 10/28/21 

Contact: Peter Jasinski | 

BOSTON – The Massachusetts State Senate on Wednesday voted 36-3 to adopt a redistricting plan that, if signed by the Governor, would add the Town of Hanover to the Norfolk & Plymouth District. The new redistricting plan will take effect in January 2023. 

“As our communities continue to change and expand, our legislative districts must likewise evolve,” said Senator John F. Keenan (D-Quincy), “I look forward to continuing to represent all of the communities in my current district for the rest of this legislative session and welcome the prospect of working on behalf of the residents of Hanover if I am fortunate enough to get re-elected.”  

As a result of Wednesday’s vote, the Norfolk & Plymouth District would include the City of Quincy, the Town of Abington, precincts 3B, 4B, and 6A in the Town of Braintree, and all of the towns of Hanover, Holbrook, and Rockland.  

“I am confident that the changes enacted by the Special Joint Committee on Redistricting will ensure that the communities of Abington, Braintree, Hanover, Holbrook, Quincy, and Rockland continue to have a strong voice on Beacon Hill.” said Senator Keenan. “No matter where we live, we all want the same things from our government – great schools, responsive police and fire departments, reliable water and sewer infrastructure, clean air, library services, programming for our seniors, supports for our veterans, safe roads, sidewalks and bridges, and safe and affordable housing.” 

S.2560, An Act establishing senatorial districts, divides the Commonwealth into 40 senatorial districts that will be in effect until the next redistricting cycle following the decennial census in 2030.  

These districts are drawn based on data from the 2020 census and will double the number of majority-minority Senate districts from three to six. The efforts to increase majority-minority representation include the strengthening of a Black ‘ability-to-elect’ district in Boston and the creation of a Hispanic ‘ability-to-elect’ district in the Merrimack Valley, along with the creation, strengthening or preservation of four ‘opportunity-to-elect’ districts in the Chelsea area, the Brockton area, Springfield, and Boston. 

“By listening to residents throughout this process, we have passed a map that fairly and accurately represents the people of Massachusetts,” said Senate President Karen E. Spilka (D-Ashland). “Additionally, these districts will better reflect the diversity of people who call Massachusetts home.” 

“I am deeply grateful to the New Democracy Coalition, the Drawing Democracy Coalition and the hundreds of individuals who came forward to help shape the Commonwealth’s legislative districts for the coming 10 years,” stated Senator William N. Brownsberger (D-Belmont), the Senate Chair of the Special Joint Redistricting Committee. “I believe that with their help we have ended up with a high-quality plan.” 

The Senate bill will now go the House of Representatives for their approval. Complete details of the Senate map can be found at